AAP wins Bawana bypoll in boost for Kejriwal , setback for BJP

Adjust Comment Print

BJP's Vishwajit Rane retained the Valpoi seat from which he had been elected earlier this year on a Congress ticket only to resign and join the BJP. The votes of the rural areas of the constituency were counted in the first few rounds, after which the Congress had a clear edge over its two rivals - the AAP and the BJP. The constituency has voted for the party's ideology and track-record in governance, implying that the AAP has managed to retain its mass base, at least in Bawana. He defeated BJP's Ved Prakash by 24,052 votes while Congress' Sandeep Kumar secured third position. The polling percentage remained quite low as only 45% people voted.

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) on Monday won the Bawana Assembly bypoll by a margin of over 24,000 votes, defeating former party legislator Ved Prakash who defected to the BJP.

Almost 75 percent voting was recorded during the 23 August bypolls in Goa. Having lost Pratapsingh's ambitious son to the BJP, the Congress could well be staring at the loss of at least three seats to the saffron party in this part of interior Goa in the future if it doesn't work to counter the Ranes' influence in the Sattari taluka.

The BJP's defeat is all the more "glaring" in the backdrop of "spectacular" success of the party in the MCD polls held in April and the Rajouri Garden Assembly bypoll before that, he said. They had urged the Election Commission to use VVPAT machines for tallying votes.

TDP candidate Bhuma Brahmananda Reddy won comfortably from the Nandyal Assembly constituency, defeating YSRCP candidate Silpa Chandra Mohan Reddy with a margin of over 27,456 votes.

Delhi Congress chief Ajay Maken said after the results that party's revival process "may be hard but not impossible!" The party sources said much of the blame for dismal performance will have to be placed at the door of Delhi BJP President Manoj Tiwari, who is also a Bhojpuri film actor.

Panjim has been a BJP bastion since 1994, with Parrikar holding the seat for 23 years.

The Rayalaseema Parirakshana Samithi (RPS), a proponent of a separate Rayalaseema state which some political observers considered a game-changer, failed to take off and got a mere 154 votes-less than even the 1,231 none of the above (NOTA) votes. However, AAP's large victory became evident in the later rounds.

The bypoll was necessitated after the death of Bhuma Nagi Reddy, who had quit the YSR Congress party to join the TDP in 2016.