Om Prakash Rawat took over as new CEC today

Adjust Comment Print

Born on December 2, 1953, Rawat is a 1977 batch IAS officer from Madhya Pradesh cadre.

His tenure as CEC comes at a time when the Election Commission is under criticism for recommending to diqualify 20 Aam Aadmi Party MLAs for holding "office of profit".

He received Prime Minister's Award on April 21, 2010 while serving as Principal Secretary (SC/ST Welfare Department), Govt. of Madhya Pradesh.

On the other hand, Lavasa, a 1980-batch IAS officer of the Haryana cadre, will fill the sole vacancy in the three-member ECI created with Rawat's appointment.

The newly-appointed chief election commissioner said the notices were issued for the objective of giving the AAP MLAs a hearing.

OP Rawat did postgraduation in MSC from Banaras Hindu University. Rawat has served in key positions for both Union Government and Madhya Pradesh.

Rawat was an election commissioner before taking over from Achal Kumar Joti, who headed the Election Commission since July 2017 and retired on Monday. During his tenure as the Election Commissioners of India, Rawat has monitored assembly elections in fourteen Indian states including Assam, Bihar, Kerala, Puducherry, and Tamil Nadu.

He said the Election Commission had stopped seeding of voter identity cards with Aadhaar following a Supreme Court directive.

The new CEC said, the Commission is concerned about the practicability aspect of section 126 of the Representation of People's Act as it is being violated by people unknowingly and innocently through social media without knowing that they have liable for prosecution and two years of imprisonment. He will demise the office if he turns 65 before the completion of the mandate.

Besides, Rawat will also have the opportunity to oversee elections to 58 Rajya Sabha seats.